One Day Only

It seems to me that history is the new rock and roll. At least in the world of social media. My Facebook news feed is constantly filled up with Timehop posts, and while the odd one or two evoke an oooooh or an occasional where the hell did the time go the vast majority are tedious in the extreme.

This malaise has now spread to other apps. Today I got an email from RunKeeper letting me know that a year ago today I (and I quote) “totally crushed an awesome 10.1km run”.

Anyone who has seen me run will know that the only thing I totally crush in an awesome fashion is the wrapper on my RaceFood bar after about an hour of mid-pace plodding.

But hey. Being the upbeat, glass half full, silver lining (stop laughing) kind of guy that I am I thought I would enter into the spirit of things and find out some interesting facts about July 6th.

The first thing I discovered is that the Dalai Lama and George Dubya Bush share the 6th of July as their birthday. An unlikely set of bedfellows to be fair. Former President Bush no doubt assumes that the Dalai Llama is the one with two humps.

Fortunately for Dubya if he happened to be bitten by an enraged Dalai Llama (presumably while trying to hunt it, shear it or milk it) he could call on Louis Pasteur. Louis P (as he was known in practically no quarters) gave the first anti-rabies inoculation on this day in 1885.

For those of you with tennis on the brain Althea Gibson became the first African American to win Wimbledon on this day in 1957. I don’t know anything about Ms Gibson but I would hazard a guess that she won it with a great deal more grace and a whole lot less histrionics than Serena Williams.

Philip K Dick got married for a fourth time, John Lennon and Paul McCartney met for the first time and Louis Armstrong died. All on July 6th. I thought there was even a Led Zeppelin moment on this day when I saw someone called John Paul Jones had a birthday, but 1747 seemed old even for Zeppelin.

That’s almost as old as Keith Richards.

It would be fair to say that I didn’t light up the pages of history today. I did the school run. I went to work. I did some work at home. I bathed the kids. I drank some wine.

Epic huh.

Still, at least by writing this I have ensured that in a year from now Facebook can remind me that I uploaded a blog post.

RunKeeper can totally go fuck itself in a crushingly awesome way.

2 thoughts on “One Day Only

  1. Interesting day that’s for sure. And yes that’s correct. Keith Richards is a bit older than one thousand seven-hundred and forty-seven years old. Which the fake Zeppelin isn’t quite yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

