A Lemon Scented Graveyard of Ideas

I have no idea what inspired this or where it came from.

Maybe I should have worn a hat.

Or a steel bucket.

*

There’s a spot down by the lemon tree where the ideas grow. I planted them there you see. Not through choice you must understand. (un)Happy accident. The ideas bounce around in my head for a while and if I don’t write them down somewhere they break through the walls of my skull and take root.

Always next to the lemon tree.

It explains why it’s at such an angle.

To the untrained eye they just look like weeds. Some are sickly. Spindly. Destined to reach too hard and fast before tumbling to the earth. Some are stronger and if you rub against them they might just worm their way into your soul.

If you don’t take a look you’ll never know.

I tried to stop it. I wore a hat for a while. When that didn’t work I drilled a plate into the side of my skull. That slowed them. At least until they got smart.

Smarter.

Uglier.

I’ve come to realise that the good ones always find a way out in the end. The bad ones fester early. They make me do things. Oh no. Not like that. Not to other people.

Just to myself.

They are the ones that made me file my fingers to points.

To sharpen the writing.

Please don’t tell them we talked.

There’s no telling what might happen.

10 thoughts on “A Lemon Scented Graveyard of Ideas

    • I felt it couldn’t do any harm in a time I’m feeling short on ideas to pretend I have hundreds of the little buggers trying to get out πŸ™‚

      But they really do like an odd-angled tree…!

      Like

  1. This inspired me but not directly only indirectly and I thought for a while if I should say that this inspired me, because if you ever saw my creation you would say: “Uhm… what exactly in my story inspired this?”. πŸ™‚ But that’s how minds work. You see three words and they inspire something. Anyway, I figured it’s always nice to hear you inspire people so of course I say so. But I don’t think you will recognise the story if I didn’t say so beforehand. So… you are warned! πŸ˜‰ Or maybe. You might have an eye for stuff like that. I’m rambling again. (Maybe I should cut “again”, since I’m rather rambling STILL than AGAIN).
    ATVB my friend
    Tobbe

    Liked by 1 person

    • Whether I spot the inspiration or not I look forward to reading anything you write πŸ™‚ Speaking of which I have read your two latest in the editing pile but only had time for a quick read so want to revisit before commenting πŸ™‚

      And you are absolutely right – being told you’ve inspired something is a wonderful feeling!

      Cheers my fine friend πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

