You Are My Sunshine

sunshine-blogger-award-300x300I’ve been nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award.

I can only begin to imagine just how hard those of you who have known me for many years are laughing at the idea of good old cynical me and the word sunshine in the same sentence.

Pipe down ye chucklers and titterers.

My natural instinct with anything of this nature is to stick my head in the sand or to politely decline. I don’t know why, it’s just how I am.

The thing is though…the person who nominated me – Jess Combs (Author, Knitter, Mother, Gamer – how much cooler is that than Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy?) – has not only given up some time and real estate on her blog to nominate me she has also spent time reading and commenting on mine. Not out of family duty or friendship obligation but as one stranger to another who spends solitary lonely time putting words on a page. And I really, truly, genuinely appreciate it. Thanks Jess 🙂

My tasks in accepting the award are as follows:-

1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger with a link to the website. Yep, done.

2. Share 11 random facts about myself by answering the questions the nominating blogger has created for me. Yep, gonna do that now now just now in a minute.

3-5. List 11 other bloggers, let them know, give them questions…

OK. So I’m going to skip on the last three tasks and instead offer up some challenges.

Challenge 1 – To All Readers Of This Post

I don’t follow many blogs. I’d love to follow more but I don’t have a massive amount of spare time so I’d rather keep the list short and be able to read and comment on those I follow. The point is, you can see all the people I follow on the right hand side of my blog. Go and check them out. Every one of them is worth reading. So that’s my challenge to you dear reader – go forth and read.

Challenge 2 – To Those Bloggers I’m Following

You’re all worthy of some sunshine as far as I’m concerned. If you read this post and feel like having a bit of fun then write a post about it. Invent some questions. Be creative. The more random the better. I’d love to read what you come up with.

And so to the questions. I will warn you in advance I’ve had a couple of beers and a glass of wine…

1. Who is/are your favourite authors?

Great. Let’s start with an easy one. It’s me. Obvs. As you can imagine there’s a bit of a drop off then from me to the rest of the world’s population of authors but one or two of them can write. OK…joking apart, my go-to author is Stephen King. He never, ever disappoints and On Writing genuinely changed my life. I have any number of authors jockeying for position behind him (it’s a beautiful sight) – Haruki Murakami, Margaret Atwood, Robert Rankin, Steven Erikson, Stephen Donaldson, John Meaney, Carl Hiaasen…

2. What hobbies do you have?

Assuming writing transcends hobby status I’d say running, home-brewing, gaming (PS3) and golf.

3. What is the one thing that is always guaranteed to make you smile?

Smiling.

4. Do you spend too much time on the internet?

Yes. Especially when I should be writing. Or watching the kids.

5. Do you have a phobia? If so what and why?

I have a lot of things that make me nervous. Spiders, heights, Kardashians. Nothing at phobic levels. Interestingly (he said hopefully) I’m far more terrified of achieving success as a writer than I am of failing.

6. Why do you blog?

I always wanted to write and blogging got me started. I like the fact that something I write down can be read by someone else and resonate with them in some way. Plus the dopamine hit of a like or a comment notification by mail when your phone vibrates in your pocket perks up the dullest of days.

7. Are you an introvert or an extrovert?

Confused introvert. I can play on stage with a guitar but would rather jump off a bridge than play charades.

8. Do you sing along to the radio even if other people are around?

I save all my best notes for when people are around

9. What was your first thought when you woke up today?

Why did I finish the bottle

10. What makes you really angry?

Racism, reality television, the England rugby team, people who make their dogs wear weird clothes, the fact that there are never any paper towels in the bathroom dispenser at work, idiots, idiots who think they aren’t idiots, people who chew annoyingly, Justin Bieber, badly constructed socks where the seam digs in under your toenails, cheese flavoured crisps, Riverdance, religion, having the last Revel in a pack and finding it’s a chocolate covered peanut, overuse of commas, xenophobic facebook statuses/pictures, fat free milk, running out of coffee, the spelling mistakes in this post I won’t spot, gem squash, floury apples, the shithead of a mole currently digging up my garden, mayo which isn’t really mayo but is in fact salad cream, and charades. Oh, and fancy dress. And dancing. Except with my kids when no one is watching.

11. What would you change about yourself if you could?

To be less scared of the unknown.

Oh and just as a final note, in case you hadn’t guessed the featured image is of my two sunshines.

4 thoughts on “You Are My Sunshine

Leave a Reply

