TWS

“…dug…trenches…enemy…”

“What? Where are you? The reception is shit.”

“Is that any better? I’m dug in. With the rest of the project team. We’re taking major enemy fire and I’m not sure we’re going to get out of this. I just wanted you to know that I love you.”

“You are such a drama queen.”

“I’m serious this time. You can’t believe what they are throwing at us. If I so much as pop my head above the desk I’m going to get some made up piece of corporate wankspeak right in the face. Simon got a single stray letter to the shoulder earlier and all he can do is rock back and forth and endlessly repeat blue sky thinking in monotone. I dread to think what would have happened if he got the full TLA to a vital organ.”

“TLA?”

“Three Letter Acronym. SOT, FAT, BAU, CSF, PIC…they just keep on coming…we can’t hold out much longer…”

“Assuming by some miracle you manage to escape with only mild to moderate scathing do you think you could perhaps PSW on your way home?”

“PSW”

“Pickup Some Wine.”

“Roger that. But I can’t make any promises.”

“Just do your best soldier…”

*

In case you were wondering about the title of this blog it does NOT in fact stand for Total Waffly Shite or Terribly Written Shocker it simply means Two-hundred Word Story. I should know, I made it up. What do you mean it’s actually four words? GFY!

8 thoughts on “TWS

  1. This is so much BS, but I love it. Am I detecting a bit of a rant in this? Revolting against modern trends in language? Because I’m with you. Where is the rally? And also after Daytona (which probably is in Daytona), where is the revolt taking place?

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re detecting a rant for sure but much of it is directed against the tedium of my general work experience (although the constant acronymisation of the world does DMI – Drive Me Insane). There are elements of my working day I enjoy but there are a lot of other elements that shall we say give me inspiration for stories…

      Like

Leave a Reply

