Sunshine Sometimes Strikes Twice

sunshine-blogger-award-300x300I’ve been nominated for a second Sunshine Blogger Award.

Cue lots of choking noises from those who were already chuckling at cynical old me getting the word sunshine thrown in my direction the first time around.

Pipe down once more ye chucklers and titterers.

You’ll be pleased to know that the world hasn’t gone completely mad. My natural instinct remains to stick my head in the sand and ignore this kind of thing. I still don’t know why, it’s just how I am. Probably explains why I hate charades and dancing.

The thing is though…the person who nominated me – Vic Smith – is not only an excellent storyteller, but also an extremely generous chap. He constantly supports writers on Twitter and has spent a lot of time reading and supporting both this blog and the Literally Stories site that I co-edit. So once again I’m going to suppress my inner introvert (actually I’m about to hogtie him in a disused cupboard but that’s another story) and enter into the spirit of things. Thanks Vic!

My tasks in accepting the award are as follows:-

1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger with a link to the website. Yep, done. What do you mean where? Click on his name! Go on! Do it!

2. Share 11 random facts about myself by answering the questions the nominating blogger has created for me. Yep, gonna do that now now just now in a minute.

3-5. List 11 other bloggers, let them know, give them questions…

To bring some consistency into my inconsistent world I’m going to alter tasks 3-5 as I did before and pose the same challenges I did the last time I was nominated.

Challenge 1 – To All Readers Of This Post

I (still) don’t follow many blogs. I’d love to follow more but I don’t have a massive amount of spare time so I’d rather keep the list short and be able to read and comment on those I follow. The point is, you can see all the people I follow on the right hand side of my blog. Go and check them out. Every one of them is worth reading. So that’s my challenge to you dear reader – go forth and read.

Challenge 2 – To Those Bloggers I’m Following

You’re all worthy of some sunshine as far as I’m concerned. If you read this post and feel like having a bit of fun then write a post about it. Invent some questions. Be creative. The more random the better. I’d love to read what you come up with.

And so to the questions…

1. Who do you see as the audience for your writing?

As far as possible I try to write things that appeal to me. Things that make me laugh, things that make me angry – anything that provokes an emotion. I write stories in a number of different genres, dabble (badly) in haiku and generally ramble on about a lot of different things. So I suppose my audience would be anyone with eclectic tastes!

2. Which comes first for you, narrative or dialogue?

In my day job I spend more time than I should giving the answer “It depends” to a variety of questions but I’m going to have to give the same answer here as it really does vary for me. I think I write dialogue better than narrative so maybe I should plump for dialogue.

3. Do you think that fiction must be entertaining?

No. I think it must provoke a reaction or create a bond with a reader but it doesn’t have to be entertaining.

4. Do you think that fiction should be educational?

No. I love things that are utterly bonkers and pointless. That said, I do think fiction should be well enough written so that the craft itself could be educational to a reader or aspiring writer.

5. Are you aware of other writers who have influenced your work?

I’ve been an avid reader for as long as I can remember and I believe all those words have shaped my writing in some way. Stephen King has influenced me greatly through his brilliant book On Writing and also because I’ve read so much of his work (his dialogue is always first rate). Robert Rankin, Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett and Carl Hiaasen have also all left their mark on my work. I will be forwarding them separate, itemised cleaning bills during 2016.

6. Do you prefer e-book or print?

Print. I’ve got a kindle and it has its uses but you can’t beat an actual book or magazine. I’ve been fortunate enough to get one story in print and having a physical copy of the issue gives me immense joy! I’ve just finished reading The Selected Works of TS Spivet by Reif Larsson – the structure and layout of it just wouldn’t work on an e-reader in my opinion and it would be a far lesser read because of it.

7. How do you see the future for creative writing?

Given the quality of work I’ve been fortunate enough to read over the last year or so on Literally Stories I’d say the future is bright.

8. Do you make much use of social media?

I dabble but I’m not as active as I perhaps should be. I use Facebook and Twitter but certainly not to their full potential in terms of self-promotion and networking (*makes note to procrastinate on this further when he should be doing some actual writing*)

9. If you could live in any time but this, which would you choose?

I’m not much of a historian so I don’t long for the past. Maybe the seventies for the music. Nah, scrap that – I’ll go for the future. I’ve always fancied myself as some dystopian wasteland survivalist.

10. What makes you sad?

Social inequality, cheese flavoured crisps and Welsh rugby.

11. What makes you happy?

My family, daydreaming and Welsh rugby.

 

Header image: “446667main1 sdo-fulldisk-670” by NASA’s SDO – NASA [1]. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:446667main1_sdo-fulldisk-670.jpg#/media/File:446667main1_sdo-fulldisk-670.jpg

4 thoughts on “Sunshine Sometimes Strikes Twice

  1. Jesus wants you for a sunbeam to shine for him each day
    In every way try to please him, at work, at school, at play

    I would continue but I have just realised that that line is actually a bit dodgy! hmm

    Congrats on the award you little sunbeam you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for biting the bullet, Nik, and thanks for the generous testimonial. I felt much the same as you describe when I was nominated. Self-promotion can be an uncomfortable thing, but I suppose it’s unavoidable. It can be disheartening too. Twitter especially is regularly like shouting into a hurricane. Still, stiffen the sinews and so on… All the best, Vic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pleasure Vic. It’s slightly odd coming to terms with two opposing worlds isn’t it? Not sure many of us writerly folk easily adapt to self promotion but it’s a necessary evil I suppose. You are spot on in your assessment of Twitter – I’m still fumbling around for a torch in said hurricane 🙂

      I had fun answering the questions – and thanks again for the nomination.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

