A Pinch Of Failure

Snazzy title though it is, it’s not the actual title of the 150 (fine, 148) word story that I will shortly be cutting and pasting into this very post.

The pinch part refers to the word that needed to be included in the piece.

The failure part refers to the fact it was not picked as a weekly adhoc fiction entry winner.

The a and of are just there to bludgeon the other words into a cohesive, if somewhat unwilling, whole.

So here is my pinch of failure – Anna Beginning.

Will you be back?

I don’t know.

Except she did know. Anna always knew what came next. I’ve never been so assured. It was as much as I could muster to fumble out an “OK.” and watch her open the door. Watch her turn and gave me a smile reserved solely for the pitied. Feel the cold night air rush in, ushering out the warmth of her.

Later, once the sound of her car had faded I went outside for a smoke, lighting up in furtive denial that she was actually gone, waiting for her chiding reminder of my filthy habit. The first pinch of frost settled into my bones. Withered the dreams budding at my marrow. Gave rise to broken hearted tales and the redemptive power of human connection.

“So she was real then, this Anna?”

“Oh yes. I never make up the characters in my books.”

 

Header image: By Schnobby – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=19055302

10 thoughts on “A Pinch Of Failure

    • It’s quite a fun one to enter isn’t it? I’ve enjoyed them the last few weeks – got another one in the mix this week (prompt – WISP). The only thing is with seventy-odd entries every week I don’t think anyone beyond the first four or five pages has a chance in the vote (that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!)

      Hope you’re having a good week – great to hear from you as always

      Like

      • Yes I’ve come to that conclusion too; I think they are posted roughly in the order they are received too so mine are always near the bottom as I spend all week thinking about it before writing something! Good luck with wisp, I’ll have a read through and see if I can spot yours. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Rebecca – will be very interested to see if you can work it out! I put one in for STONE this week as well – got that done on Thursday at least so maybe a little bit closer to the front!

        Hope you’ve had a good weekend 🙂

        Like

    • Thanks Nicola! Maybe I’ll go mad one day and flesh it out to some three or four hundred word epic to clear up any mystery 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting – appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks James! Lovely to hear from you – appreciate you taking the time to drop in and comment.

      I wanted the character to sound a little writerly if that makes sense which is why I chose that kind of language. Great that you singled it out and enjoyed it!

      Like

    • I’m as eclectic as a large eclectic professor of eclectica at an eclectic college of knowledge. Except on Sundays when I prefer to be called Marion.

      Like

Leave a Reply

