My Cat Just Brought Me A Gooseberry

My cat just brought me a gooseberry
There must be a reason I guess
His switch to fruitarian is news to me
But it’s a change from the rats I confess

His penchant for moles has been certain
Or at least for a while I was sure
But does this now bring down the curtain
On his chapter of swift vermin cure?

My cat just brought me a gooseberry
Looked like a tomato at first
Not the cat you buffoon, but the gooseberry
A tomato faced cat would be cursed

Unlike my dear Great Aunt Jemima
Who may or may not be for real
Rumour has it she fought like a tiger
And was blessed with some big sex appeal

My cat just brought me a gooseberry
Ok fine, ’twas a few minutes hence
Since popping my feline-fruit cherry
He’s mostly been sat on the fence

No really. Not talking in riddles
Perched upon fence is his spot
I know, coz he’s outside my window
You can choose to believe it or not

The next time he brings me such bounty
Be it gooseberry, guava or grass
It’d better be ripe or I’ll smack him
On his tea-towel holder shaped arse

 

Header image: By Abbas Hasnain – by my camera, CC BY 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=24550374

2 thoughts on “My Cat Just Brought Me A Gooseberry

    • Thanks Diane – glad it gave you a giggle and please send me the bill for any coffee related dry-cleaning 🙂 That line has caused much merriment between my brother and I over the years!

      Like

Leave a Reply

