Same Time Next Thursday?

Greetings O Fair And Wondrous Blog-Folk!

It has come to my attention (attentive little soul wot I am) that one or two of us are feeling a little bit jaded and uninspired at present.

This simply will not do.

We need a bit of fun in our lives.

And so, after extensive consultation with my regular Adhoc Fiction co-loser, the lovely Rebecca Field, I bring you the snappily titled Might Be Regular Thursday Word Prompt With Very Loose Rules Thingamabob!

The idea behind it is simple. Each* Thursday I will propose a basic framework for a story and then hope like hell a few people will actually write something.

* Each may be translated as “once off failure” depending if anyone enters into the spirit of things.

So for this week:-

1000 words maximum (no minimum word count)

Any genre

Must be inspired by (or indeed include verbatim) the line If that was in the Olympics you’d win gold

That’s it!

All you need to do is write something, paste a link to your story in the comments section on this post and then read, comment, laugh. Etc.

I hereby solemnly swear that next Thursday I will post a story conforming to the guidelines. I further swear that I will read and comment on any story posted by anyone else.

And furthermore…if people have fun with it I will post another challenge next week. I’m also more than happy to go with ideas for a prompt, genre or word count from anyone who accepts the challenge (email me or send something through my about page)

It may work. It may not. But at the very least we should at least see one two fun stories and get the chance to visit a few worthwhile blog sites to show some love. Give it a shot  people! There is so much talent who (for reasons unknown but I suspect drink is involved) take time to visit this site and comment that I dread to consider the general awesomeness that this idea could spawn…

10 thoughts on “Same Time Next Thursday?

    • A turd? Far too hard on yourself. A minor piece of bat guano at the very worst haha 🙂

      No need to apologise…Isn’t it funny how book editing sounds so glamorous yet I can only imagine what a hard slog it is! Hope it’s going well – will put some money aside for a signed copy once you’re done 🙂

      Got a couple of ideas lurking for a story so I will do my best to make you and the prompt proud…

      Liked by 1 person

      • If wading through knee-high slop is glamorous. 😛 It’s been going pretty well actually – slowly getting smoother and cleaner, seeing the light at the end of the tunnel… It’s been tough but not as tough as I expected (which is why I avoided it for so long, heh).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

