School Day Blues

“Come on sweetie, we’ve got to get going.”

“Don’t want to. I just want to stay here.”

“I know you do my love but you’ve got to go, and unless you get moving we’re going to be late. You’ll have lots of fun, just you wait and see.”

“No I won’t. I don’t want to go.”

“Angel, I know it’s scary but everyone else will be feeling the same as you. You’ll make new friends so quickly. It really will be OK.”

“Don’t want to make friends. I’ve got my other friends. Why can’t I just play with them instead? All these new ones will just be weird and they won’t like me.”

“Don’t be silly, why wouldn’t they like you?”

“They just won’t.”

“My darling, I’m sorry you feel that way but you have to go so I need you to hurry up and get ready. I don’t want to be late on day one.”

“Please can I just stay here? Pleeeeeeeeeeeeze?”

“No you can’t and I’m actually starting to get cross now. Sit in your chair properly and finish your Cheerios. You’ve still got to brush your teeth and get your bag ready and we have to be out of here in less than ten minutes. Do NOT pull that face. Your son is starting Grade One this morning and you WILL be there and you WILL interact with the other parents whether you like it or not. Honestly, you’re worse than the bloody kids.”

7 thoughts on “School Day Blues

  1. Although I knew where you were going i still enjoyed getting there. i had the most wonderful image in my mind of this chap sulking on the chair and huffing his shoulders. Thank you for the giggle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

