#amwriting

Failure
It’s gonna nail ya
On a Wednesday
Put down your pens day
So lay yourself low
Or better still yo
Take up a simpler pastime like drinking and while away the hours in a grape-filled haze
Peace out
Word
Etc.

Right. Now that I’ve proven beyond measure that I’m down with the kids let’s have a look at this week’s 150 word failure. It’s called #amwriting and the prompt was scale.

*

“You should go and write something.”

“I know.”

“When’s the deadline?”

“A week. Less actually. Saturday.”

“Then you need to go and write something.”

“Yes. I know. It’s not so much the writing down of stuff as the coming up with an idea so I can write said idea down on a page that is causing me the biggest problem to be honest.”

“Well you aren’t going to fix that drinking wine in the kitchen.”

“Good point. I should probably go and drink in front of the Mac.”

“It’s a start.”

“The scale of it just scares me.”

“Your drinking?”

“No. The story. Two thousand words doesn’t seem like a lot unless your word count is sitting on zero. Again.”

“Only one way to get it moving…”

“Fine. I’m going. Don’t wait up. At current pace I should be finished by the dawn of the next ice age.”

*

4 thoughts on “#amwriting

  1. I feel ya ! (Actually maybe I should clarify – when I say that I don’t mean that I actually feel you – that would be a) impossible as you are where you are and I am in Franceland and b) well – it’s just not the sort of thing one does.)

    Drink up Nik it’s traditional, writers and booze it’s just the way things are – thank goodness

    Liked by 1 person

    • Despite the logistical, geographical and polite societal challenges I am overwhelmed by your virtual-feeling attempts and your support of all things grape and grain based! It’s just gone 1.30 and it’s a public holiday so I reckon I can safely raise a glass to salute you Mrs D 😉

      Oh, and by the way, France were playing Albania yesterday – wasn’t sure if Facebook had let you know…

      Like

Leave a Reply

