A 26 Step Love Story

“Amy.”

“But isn’t she…?”

“Christ! Don’t give me that bullshit. Every girl who ignores you is a lesbian in your book.”

“Fair point, but that wasn’t what I was going to ask.”

“Go on.”

“Heard she was seeing that weird guy from accounts.”

“Ian?”

“Just a rumour. Kills me to be the one to break it to you though.”

“Lying bastard. Made your morning more like.”

“No! On a scale of one to certain-messenger-death this is right up there on the top end.”

“Pleasant though it is to contemplate you keeling over into your pint I’ll stick to my initial assessment.”

“Quite a looker though.”

“Really?”

“Sure. Tits like a…”

“Unbelievable. Very seldom do you disappoint when it comes to cheapening something. Why can’t you get it into your brain that, on occasion, something other than a crap line is the right choice?

“X-rays have so far been inconclusive, but I’ll ask them to scan my entire supporting-a-loved-up-buddy cortex next time they beam me up.”

“You are such an arsehole.”

“Zach, lighten up…look who just walked in…”

***

BIG thanks to the really rather excellent Shannon Noel Brady for the idea that prompted this story. 26 sentences, start the first one with A and proceed through to Z. Give it a shot – would love to see what you guys come up with. Great idea and lots of fun – thanks Shannon!

Header image: By Pierre Lindenbaum – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=16877344

17 thoughts on “A 26 Step Love Story

    • Would love to see what you come up with! It really was fun to do – slowly but surely my brain is coming back to life…

      Thanks for reading – great to know it reads naturally as I wanted it to be a real story and not just a gimmick 🙂

      Like

      • Thanks Rebecca – hope you and yours have a lovely weekend too! Going to be chaos here – race day is also Arwen’s 3rd birthday, then the Easter bunny pops in and then my birthday on Monday! Lots of fun though and thanks for the good wishes on the race – I’m excited which can only be a good sign 🙂

        Like

    • There’s definitely something that gets my brain ticking if there’s an element of a game or a puzzle involved in writing – explains why the numerical challenge of haiku appeals to me. This was a really fun idea and I suspect I might try another one – I’m thinking a fantasy story for some reason. Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for poking my brain into action 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad I resisted the temptation to put the explanation at the start Diane – the fact that those who’ve read it have all noted that it works as a story is really pleasing. I like experimenting with different challenges but I also like a piece to stand up to scrutiny. As for being clever…of course I am, look how well I married 🙂

      Thanks for your constant support Mrs D – appreciated!

      Like

    • Not noticing is the most positive comment I could receive in this case – thanks! I normally explain what I’m doing with things up front but I’m glad I left this one to the end and that it works as a story.

      Like

    • Absolutely brilliant critique dear editing friend. Go Haglund! I just know losers might not openly praise quality rambling. Sir Tobias! Unique! Vital! Wondrous! Xtra-Ordinary! Young! Zwedish!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Nik – this is great. I tried to write a story a few weeks ago where each word went up and then down the alphabet but failed miserably. I just couldn’t do it without it making no sense. This, in marked contrast, is joyous! I had no sense of the structure until you owned up at the end. Bravo I say! Nick

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Nick! I was surprised how easily it came together when I tried it – I think the idea of the bookend names of Amy and Zach got me going and then my comfort zone of “two blokes chatting in a pub” kicked in and this was the result! Thanks for reading and commenting – much appreciated and very glad to know it worked for you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment